Skip to content

Talked At PK Night 2 in Fukuoka

June 22, 2011

PK Nights were first devised in Tokyo in February 2003 as an event for young designers to meet, network, and show their work in public. It has turned into a massive celebration, with events happening in hundreds of cities around the world, inspiring creatives worldwide. Drawing its name from the Japanese term for the sound of “chit chat”, it rests on a presentation format that is based on a simple idea: 20 images x 20 seconds. It’s a format that makes presentations concise, and keeps things moving at a rapid pace.

PK Fukuoka

I talked about my passion in PK Night 2 in Fukuoka. My passion is “I want to support Fukuoka which changes into the art and technology city”. Here is my slides, and I wanted to speak like this subscripts.

My name is Masanori Hashimoto, you know? Maybe you know me, because I am very famous in Fukuoka! (It is a joke.)

 I went to NYC about 2 years ago. I got lots of ideas and energy from the city. this is the first overseas trip in my life. NYC is really fun!

This is a pizza shop in NYC. I ate lots of juicy and delicious pizza here.

My second overseas trip is Silicon Valley and San Francisco. I felt there is a clear blue sky, and good climate. And I went to Google, Apple and local startup-companies here.

I ate an apple.

I think NYC, Silicon Valley and San Francisco are good city and I want to go them again.

But, Fukuoka is Good city, too.

Fukuoka has a beautiful nature and good climate like Silicon Valley, I think.

And Nakasu looks like a NYC. Please see with your mind’s eyes, please.

I want to support Fukuoka which changes into the art and technology city, because my family and many my friands lives in Fukuoka and I love Fukuoka very much.

This is my company called Nulab which runs some web services in Fukuoka.

This is Aratana Laboratory. Aratana is very famous company in e-commerce of Japan. Their head office is in Miyazaki. And they opened their laboratory in Fukuoka, too.

This is Bulanco which is designer’s company. Fukuoka has a many designer’s small company.

This is AIP cafe, you know? There is like a open-space. You can hold a meetup here.

I am feeling a chance that Fukuoka changes to art and technology city, but there are not enough yet.

I think that we have possibility to change! But, I guess we need 5 elements!

One is English. We need to communicate with people who use an English more than now.

Two is the industrial-government-academic complex. We need to collaborate with the government and academia.

Three is powerful medias in Fukuoka. We need bring powerful media from outside and inside of Japan, and introduce our actions to outside and inside of Japan.

Four is non-profit community. We need to be continued the movement. For example; Community of Fukuoka-IT, Fukuoka Geeks and many other non-profit communities.

Five is most important in them, it is a groove. The groove will grow the other 4 elements.

Have a nice groove.
Thank you for the listening.

One Comment leave one →
  1. marushu permalink
    September 28, 2011 11:35 pm

    I finished read. I guess need learn english, too. But my english is something wrong…..
    Fukuoka is nice city!!! When i went to “WordCamp FUKUOKA” first time, it was a big impact for me.
    There was many passion, movement, lots of fun!! So now, i’m wish Kagoshima will be “fun place to go” and “fun place to work” city. :D Something about internet, webdesign, etc..

    I don’t know what to do now. But my movement gets started.
    Think again and again…. That’s fun : )

    I’m so sorry my english vocabulary is too childish :P

Leave a Reply

